Day 39 Pursuing Medicine

Hi! Today is Day 39 out of 1000 days blog challenge.

Pursuing Medicine is my career dilemma. 

Before I entered college, I am sold to the fact that since my mother was studying nursing while I was in high school I needed to be a doctor. At the present my mom is a registered nurse and she is not working in hospitals. Out of so many pre-med courses like Biology, Physical Therapy, Medical Technology, Pharmacy Chemistry, Public Health and etc, I choose Microbiology in my fourth year of high school. Anyway my initial intentions in choosing Microbiology as my pre-med course were for its uniqueness and it is the one and only course in the entire Philippines as BS MICROBIOLOGY. Despite me having no prior knowledge on Microbiology aside from microorganisms like bacteria, I just thought vaguely that this course might help me in Medicine Proper. And most of my classmates and course mates in Microbiology are also sold to the fact of wanting to become a medical doctor.

Okay, initially I was not the good hearted person you may think of me. I wanted to become a doctor prior to college because I wanted the knowledge, the prestige and the honor it will give to me and my family.

But ever since I became a born again in my third and fourth year, I struggled with my career purpose. So I studiously finished Microbiology even though it was so damn hard and difficult. And aside from being such a hard course, there was the possibility of shifting gears in my career path. So when I was fourth year up until I graduated, I backed out in pursuing Medicine. The whole family clan became my enemy because of my decision. But despite their negative comments and shame I brought to myself, I reasoned out that if there is no nobler reason to pursue Medicine then I should not.

Ecclesiastes 1:18 For in much wisdom is much grief: and He that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow.

Ecclesiastes 12:12 And further, by these, my son, be admonished: of making many books there is no end; and much study is a weariness of the flesh.


And these verses above were my reasons for not pursuing Medicine aside from the fact that Medicine won’t make me filthy rich. If I wanted to be filthy rich, I know I need to enter business. 


Ecclesiastes 2:23 For all his days are sorrows, and his travail grief; yea, his heart taketh not rest in the night. This is also vanity.

And aside from too much knowledge makes one grew weary, I know my body will get sick because of the huge study load. 

So if I really do have the passion or intense desire to be a medical doctor, the reasons should not be making money or to be highly knowledgeable but there should be a greater purpose and reason for it. So I struggled to ask Yahweh what greater reason could it be. Because most of the people around me would say being a medical doctor is for money and prestige. And it should not be. My original childhood dream was not to be a doctor. I had so many childhood dream occupations. I dreamt to be a dentist because when I was a kid even now I had a lot of dental problems. I also dreamt of becoming an inventor because of the sci-fi movies and shows I watched. And lastly, I dreamt of wanting to become an architect so that I will be the one who will design and build my mom’s land property in the province. But ever since my mom studied Nursing and I saw the books she was studying I got interested in the medical field.

But now I am born again Christian and struggling to have a ministry in the Church, I decided to pursue Medicine so to make this career as a ministry and to be a missionary doctor if God willing. I struggled to detour back in wanting to become a medical doctor, months after I graduated from college making me have a one year break from studies before I will be admitted to a medical school. Others may think the time was wasted . For me this one year break is all I needed. With this one year break, I get a lot of vacations (right now I had atleast 3 tours locally). I also honed my skills and talents. And I get to help my maternal side’s business.

So pursuing Medicine again is for ministry purposes. Pressured by the Church for me to enter a ministry and me being hard headed, I cowardly avoided ministries. But ever since I got to know Adventist University of the Philippines and one of their vision is to produce a missionary doctor, I got hooked. And also I wanted people to know Lord Jesus Christ as the Healer. He healed me and I know He can heal others too. And if sharing the gospel as a missionary doctor would not only be an outlet of healing but it will also help to seek and save the lost. In the end, I know I won’t get rich being a missionary doctor. So I will still be open to ideas of having part time businesses.

Leave a Reply

