Day 199 Academic Calendar (AY 2016-2017) Alert πŸ˜±

Hi there!

So if you are new to my blog, I just want you to know I’m an incoming Medicine student in an Adventist-run university here in the Philippines.

And just last Sunday, I got curious about their academic calendar and I googled it.

To my horror, I can’t contained how nervous I was when I first saw the schedule of important dates.

In my undergraduate years, I studied in UST. I think most universities have a relatively same Academic Calendar but to my horror, AUP is kind of more difficult than UST.

In UST, we have semestral calendar. That is the same thing for AUP. But in UST, for most colleges there, we have preliminary examinations and finals examinations. And that is not the same for AUP. In AUP, aside from preliminary examinations and final examinations, they have mid-term examinations and pre-finals examinations. 

And when I learned that, my emoji would definitely be this -> 😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱

I was so shocked and I wasn’t able to sleep that dawn of Sunday.

I don’t know how I’ll be able to battle that very strict kind of schedule. I told my beshy and besties that this my academic calendar and they were like “You just have to focus and give your all!”, “You can do it!”

To my *girl* friends, thank you very much for encouraging me and uplifting my spirits. But for me, It’s Lord Jesus Christ who will give me the strength, wisdom, power, encouragement and inspiration to succeed not just in Med school but also in life.

Here’s a sneak peak of my 1st semester schedule:

  • August 2 – Welcome program
  • August 3- Enrollment
  • August 5- Orientation for new students (am)
  • August 7- White Coat Ceremony
  • August 8- Start of classes
  • August 29 – No classes (Holiday)
  • September 7-8 Preliminary Examinations 
  • October 5-6 Midterm Examinations 
  • October 31 – No classes (Holiday)
  • November 7-8 Pre-finals Examinations 
  • November 30 – No classes (Holiday)
  • December 1-2 Exam moderation (What is this? I really don’t know)
  • December 7-8 Final examinations 
  • December 12 Checking of exam papers
  • December 13 Grade computation and encoding of grades
  • December 14 Deadline for end of semester clearances
  • December 16 Christmas break πŸŽ‰

Oh by the way, AUP’s style of teaching is mostly Outcome based with a little of Problem based curriculum. So it’s not the traditional curriculum where in you sit in a classroom and listen to the teacher. No! Outcome based is also how TESDA teaches their short term courses. And I thank God that I experienced how it is to be in outcome based curriculum because of TESDA. Basically, you need an output whether a portfolio or an actual demonstration or oral questioning. It doesn’t focuses on your knowledge per se but it looks into your attitude and skills as well. And outcome based curriculum is more of a self paced learning compared to traditional curriculum where in the teacher sets the pace of learning.

Oh, I hope I will succeed in these coming months. I hope the feeling of nervousness that I had will indicate something good will happen to me in the future.

Bye!

Leave a Reply

