Day 339 Leadership 101: Quotable Quote #27 

Good morning!

“Nothing gives one person so much advantage over another as to remain always cool and unruffled under all circumstances.” -Thomas Jefferson

✍🏻At first glance, I did not understand this quote maybe because I am so preoccupied with a lot of things! When I got to read Maxwell’s commentary on this quote, I understand it so well.

To make this quote simpler, as Maxwell said ‘there should be grace under pressure’. Maxwell said that we should make it our ambition never to panic.

Sad thing I am not always calm. I may seem calm sometimes but when times I got so many work piled up or my room is such a mess, I can’t calm down.

Maxwell believe that to be an effective leader, you should remain calm despite many struggles or pressures (whether internal or external). I believe to achieve true calmness is rely all our burdens to Lord Jesus Christ.

I remember a time when I was in 2nd or 3rd year high school, we had a game in our Asian/World History Social Science. I think it was about locating in the map where this certain place is. Some of my classmates who were called for the game panicked when that round started. I was part of that round and I was so calm at that moment. And for me answering my teacher’s question was nothing to me as I was able to correctly locate on the map the right answer while my classmates were hovering the wrong spot on the map. And it was funny how I was here alone in this side of the map while they were all there at the opposite side. And they were all silenced and dumbfounded on how I correctly and was alone (and calm). 

Anyway bottom line, we can do much and be better or even answer things correctly if we can think clearly and soberly without fear, doubt and panicking.

😌

Leave a Reply

